From Skin Color to Race Within The Hip Hop Context

http://hiphop3180.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/from-skin-color-to-race-within-the-hip-hop-context/

From Skin Color to Race Within The Hip Hop Context

There once came a time where race within our [African Americans] own community, was pretty dominant. Also coined Colorism by Alice Walker.

It’s all to common, especially in the African American community, known as the:

Brown skin vs Light skin debate, which has existed since times of slavery.

Many may ask “what does this have to do with Hip Hop,” but it has everything to do with it. Within alot of Hip Hop music, it is blatant that color is a factor. For example, a song by Lil Wayne entitled, “Right Above It,” where he states “Beautiful black woman, I bet that bitch look better red.” and many other celebrities who’ve stated similar things.

These are just a few blatant things that are/were said by AFRICAN AMERICAN male celebrities. And just when we thought that Dark skin vs Light skin was bad, it turns out that everything boils down to race. No longer is Dark skin and Light skin a dominate debate, it’s that rappers/celebrities prefer a “Yellowbone,” or a mixed female and disposing of African American women all together.

Example of this is in the lyric “I’m swimming in a yellow chick,” [Rick Ross, “John”] and many other lyrics and songs who obsess and praise “Yellowbones,” or mixed women more so than an African American woman. So does this that mean that African Americans, women in particular, are freed from this passing on to mixed raced women? No. Today we [African American women] are subjected by race and color daily whether it be by celebrities or average everyday human beings. So I guess the real question is, will it ever end?

5 Responses to “From Skin Color to Race Within The Hip Hop Context”

  1. jkaliss says : September 6, 2012 at 1:47 am

    I wish that I could say with all confidence that this dilemma will end but I cannot. I only hope that by educating ourselves as individuals and as humans we learn to appreciate all people and their various skin comlexions.

    Growing up in a home where my mother was very light skinned and my younger sister as well I was the “öutcast” when simply looking at that part of family (excluding my oldest sister who has a more caramel complexion). Many times people would see my youngest sister and me together with our mom and they would automatically assume my mom and youngest sister were mother and daughter but they would say nothing in reference to me. When I was younger I also dealt with teasing from young boys in school who would say: “what happend to you or why arent you and your sister the same color, she’s prettier than you”. I really took offense to this but as I got older I let it go knowing that some people just cannot get past skin complexion unfortunately. With this being said I have learned that people are very quick to judge and look you over simple based off your skin complexion then the race they assign you before actually asking you. People are quick to assume because you appear “mixed” you have to be and if you don’t qualify (being lighter or having an uncommon texture of hair for your complexion) you are only one and one thing. These assumptions and misjudgements lead to frustration for those who are targeted (such as myslef).

    Growing up with a supportive and loving mom I was told I was beautiful and that my skin complexion did not matter and as I grew up that helped me when the outside world told me otherwise. Through the media, especially areas focused on African Americans; hip hop, movies, music etc, this idea of lighter is better is maintained because we do not speak up when these comments or videos are produced as well as race our young women and men to respect and appreciate everyone no matter their compelxion (or race). I feel that though we are more aware of the issue there stil isn’t enoug uplift and encourgament of our youth to help change this idea.

    We need more ways to connect with your young people and let them know that beauty comes from the inside out and that what you look like is only part of who you are and everyoné’s skin color is beautiful. Skin compelxions create a mosiac of color and we were not here to be all the same hence the reason we are all different! :)

    Great post!

  2. corigoins says : September 6, 2012 at 2:10 am

    This is an awesome post! Its so sad to read those disrespectful comments- especially coming from black men. Seeing all of the racist things they said about dark skin women makes me view those rappers as being hypocrites. You can’t complain about racism when you’re racist against your own people. Its not like we chose what complexion we wanted, we were just born with it. I wish people would understand that. People are people, regardless of skin color. The issue of racism in this country is not going to get any better if we’re condoning it and practicing it as well.

  3. lblackm3 says : September 6, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    Adreann I must agree with your post. The difference in complexions is a very intense and sensitive subject in the African American community and the harsh realities are re enforced daily often in hip hop music. It’s quite interesting to hear how people that are bred from some of the same types of people to be so judging of skin color when in fact these same colors exist within their own families. I also find it interesting that people would want to change their outer appearance to fit the liking and acceptance of others. That to me is very painful. In my opinion we should be happy we stem from such an array of people. How many other racial groups can say they come in many shades? *crickets* NO ONE. To me the many different types of people and complexions make our culture so unique and I’m very proud to be apart of it. By the way Good topic.

  4. morowak says : September 7, 2012 at 1:51 am

    WOW!!!! That was a great post yet a little disturbing. Of course we know that this battle is out there but don’t like to address it. I have never experienced this personally, but have heard it several time. Unfortunately, I must say I’m guilty of making these same comments. There were never as harsh or negative, but I have always dated guys that were a lighter complexion. However, my boyfriend now is dark skinned. I think I was just so caught up in the idea of what people would say or think. Also I was consumed with peer pressure and fitting in. I am not trying to dilute my actions but I do honestly believe it was more of a preference than a prejudice. In regards to the post those comments are just pure ignorant and disgusting. They believe that light skinned girls are better and easier to deal with. Those comment are just like a white person saying “white is right” it is no different. Where did you get that post from?

    • amarsh9 says : September 7, 2012 at 2:51 am

      that is wild.
      i found the post [the one of the male celebrities] when i was going through my Tumblr one day, and found it disturbing as well.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

